

Whitelow Lane Closed Road Hill Climb

Wednesday 7th July 2021 at 7pm.

Organised by 7 Hills CC, Sheffield

Promoted for & on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under its rules & regulations.

Event Secretary Allan Wailoo

8 Leyfield Rd, Dore, Sheffield S17 3EE

07736353817

a.j.wailoo@sheffield.ac.uk

Winners

Category	Name	Club	Time	Prize
1 st male under 16yrs	Ryan Williams	Beeston Cycling Club	3:52	£25
1 st female under 16yrs	Maia Howell	Matlock CC	5:16	£25
1 st male vet (over 40yrs)	Ben Lowe	Veloviewer	3:58	£25
1 st female vet (over 40yrs)	Maddi Smith	Bolsover and District CC	5:33	£25
1 st male overall	Andy Nichols	Team Lifting Gear Products/Cycles In Motion	3:35	£25
1 st female overall	Anna Brittain	7 Hills Cycling Club	4:40	£25

Race Report

88 riders registered for the inaugural Whitelow Lane Hill Climb in Dore on 7th July 2021. The road has an almost perfect surface over the 0.92 miles course that heads out of Dore at the very edge of the Peak District. There is an average gradient of 8% but it is far from constant and the fact that the finish line is in sight at the end of a long straight for half the route is an additional characteristic that riders have to contend with.

Fastest overall was Andy Nichols (Team Lifting Gear Products/Cycles In Motion) with an incredible 3.35mins. The only rider within 10 seconds of this time was James McKay (Cycling Sheffield). Andrew Douglas (Veloviewer) in 3rd place was one of just 6 riders to manage under 4 minutes. Ben Lowe (Veloviewer) was one of these, whose 3:58 was enough for the men's veterans win. Chris Myhill (Peak Road Club) was second in this category with a time of 4.02.

Another rider breaking 4 minutes was Ryan Williams (Beeston Cycling Club) who posted 3.52. Ryan is just 15 years old and his ride was the winning time amongst the 16 juveniles that raced. Very fast times from Emil Howell (Matlock CC), Isaac Oliver (North Midlands Development Squad) and Harry Hudson (Matlock CC) sealed 2nd, 3rd and 4th respectively in this category. They were separated by just 3 seconds. Maia Howell (also Matlock CC) was the fastest junior female with 5.16.

The senior women set off last. Anna Brittain (7 Hills Cycling Club) was the fastest of them with 4.40mins. Maddi Smith (Bolsover and District CC) posted 5.33 mins and was the winner of the women's veterans category.

There were many other notable rides apart from these. However, ride of the day came from the youngest competitor. At just 6 years old (a difference of 64 years with one of our other riders) Pippa Spiers completed the course with a smile on her face in a time that is completely irrelevant. This was the first event organised by 7HCC and the first time racing on Whitelow Lane. Many thanks to everyone that entered, all the marshalls, volunteers and timekeepers required to make the event run, residents of Whitelow Lane for their support, and everyone that came out to cheer the riders on.



Full Results

Juveniles

position	firstname	lastname	club	Sex	Age	time
1	Ryan	Williams	Beeston Cycling Club	Male	15	0:03:52
2	Emil	Howell	Matlock CC	Male	14	0:04:11
3	Isaac	Oliver	North Midland Youth Squad	Male	14	0:04:13
4	Harry	Hudson	Matlock CC	Male	13	0:04:14
5	Finley	Hudson	Matlock CC	Male	11	00:04:39
6	Maia	Howell	Matlock CC	Female	12	00:05:16
7	Lydia	Turan	Holmfirth C C	Female	13	00:05:51
8	Jamie	Brough	Matlock CC	Male	11	00:05:53
9	Joseph	Throp	Matlock CC	Male	10	00:05:58
10	Iggy	Campbell	Stratford Cycling Club	Female	14	00:06:34
11	Jude	Alcock	7 Hills Cycling Club	Male	11	00:06:41
12	Fenella	Wood	7 Hills Cycling Club	Female	9	00:08:07
13	Austin	Wood	7 Hills Cycling Club	Male	7	00:08:49
14	Joe	Spiers	7 Hills Cycling Club	Male	7	00:10:31
15	Daniel	Foot	7 Hills Cycling Club	Male	8	00:11:15
16	Pippa	Spiers	7 Hills Cycling Club	Female	6	00:11:43
DNS (apols)	Samuel	Lowe	Veloviewer	Male	8	00:00:00
DNS (apols)	Jacob	Lowe	Veloviewer	Male	11	00:00:00

Women

position	firstname	lastname	club	category	time
1	Anna	Brittain	7 Hills Cycling Club	Senior	00:04:40
2	Abbie	Taylor	Fusion Cycling Club Dronfield	Senior	00:05:04
3	Maddi	Smith	Bolsover and District CC	Veteran	00:05:33
4	Sonia	Insley	Bolsover and District CC	Veteran	00:06:06
5	Fiona	Kay	7 Hills Cycling Club	Veteran	00:06:14
6	Elizabeth	Bridgen	Ilkeston Cycle Club	Veteran	00:06:16
7	Yvonne	Twelvetree	Sheffield Triathlon Club	Veteran	00:06:48
8	Harriet	Eisner	Sheffield Triathlon Club	Veteran	00:09:01
DNS					
(apols)	Joanna	Blackburn	Team Bottrill	Senior	00:00:00
DNS					_
(apols)	Becky	Hair	Magspeed Racing	Senior	00:00:00



Men

position	firstname	lastname	club	category	time
1	Andy	Nichols	Team Lifting Gear Products/Cycles In Motion	Senior	00:03:35
2	James	McKay	Cycling Sheffield	Senior	00:03:45
3	Andrew	Douglas	Veloviewer	Senior	00:03:57
4	Ben	Lowe	Veloviewer	Veteran	00:03:58
4	Tom	Andrews	Team Lifting Gear Products/Cycles In Motion	Senior	00:03:58
6	Jonathan	Loveday	7 Hills Cycling Club	Senior	00:04:00
7	Tom	Hazelton	Ilkeston Cycle Club	Senior	00:04:01
8	Chris	Myhill	Peak Road Club	Veteran	00:04:02
8	Tommy	Rush	7 Hills Cycling Club	Senior	00:04:02
10	James	Bell	Rutland Cycling Club	Veteran	00:04:04
11	Tristan	Gale	7 Hills Cycling Club	Espoir	00:04:05
11	Callum	Spencer	7 Hills Cycling Club	Senior	00:04:05
13	Michael	Hobson	Rutland Cycling Club	Senior	00:04:06
13	Michael	Newton	Barnsley Road Club	Senior	00:04:06
15	Joshua	Williams	JRC Shutt Ridley RT	Junior	00:04:07
16	Oliver	Humphreys	National Clarion CC	Veteran	00:04:09
17	Alexander	Fletcher	7 Hills Cycling Club	Senior	00:04:11
18	Darren	Miller	Fusion Cycling Club Dronfield	Senior	00:04:13
19	Robert	Cornford	7 Hills Cycling Club	Senior	00:04:15
20	Jack	Ainscough	7 Hills Cycling Club	Senior	00:04:16
21	Robert	Copeland	Sheffrec CC	Veteran	00:04:18
22	Gavin	Alcock	7 Hills Cycling Club	Veteran	00:04:19
22	Tom	Shaw	7 Hills Cycling Club	Senior	00:04:19
24	Bhima	Bowden	Macclesfield Wheelers	Senior	00:04:21
25	Daniel	Toolan	Common Lane Occasionals	Senior	00:04:27
26	Paolo	Сорро	Rugby Velo	Veteran	00:04:29
26	Euan	Adams	7 Hills Cycling Club	Senior	00:04:29
28	Brian	Whiteley	Doncaster Wheelers C.C.	Veteran	00:04:30
29	Robin	Bown	7 Hills Cycling Club	Veteran	00:04:33
30	Mark	Conanughton	Fusion Cycling Club Dronfield	Veteran	00:04:34
31	Lee	Wade	7 Hills Cycling Club	Senior	00:04:37
32	Daniel	Farrand	TrueSapien	Veteran	00:04:39
33	George	Newman	7 Hills Cycling Club	Senior	00:04:48
34	James	Mead	Common Lane Occasionals	Veteran	00:04:49
35	Richard	Newson	Rutland Cycling Club	Veteran	00:04:52
36	Jake	Stuchbury-Wass	Cambridge University CC	Senior	00:04:53
37	Richard	Stoodley	TrueSapien	Veteran	00:05:01
38	James	Russell	Macclesfield Wheelers	Veteran	00:05:03
39	Christopher	Osborne	7 Hills Cycling Club	Veteran	00:05:07
40	Harvey	Chapel	7 Hills Cycling Club	Veteran	00:05:10
41	Josh	Bridgens	Common Lane Occasionals	Veteran	00:05:11
42	Robert	Farrington	7 Hills Cycling Club	Senior	00:05:12



43	Justin	Gale	7 Hills Cycling Club	Veteran	00:05:19
44	Matthew	Sparkes	Beeston Cycling Club	Veteran	00:05:20
45	James	Marshall	Fusion Cycling Club Dronfield	Veteran	00:05:30
46	John	Turney	Sheffield Triathlon Club	Veteran	00:05:35
47	Andrew	Ralph	Rutland Cycling Club	Veteran	00:05:52
48	Andrew	Spiers	7 Hills Cycling Club	Veteran	00:06:02
49	Paul	Foot	7 Hills Cycling Club	Veteran	00:06:21
DNS			, ,		
(apols)	Morris	Pamplin	7 Hills Cycling Club	Veteran	00:00:00
DNS	lan	Cotton	Worrall Wheelers	Senior	00:00:00
DNS	Robert	Barker	myhillcycling.co.uk	Senior	00:00:00
DNS	Liam	Daly	Worrall Wheelers	Senior	00:00:00
DNS (apols)	Jonathan	Pupius	7 Hills Cycling Club	Senior	00:00:00
DNS	Rupert	Gardner	myhillcycling.co.uk	Veteran	00:00:00
DNS	Ben	Sampson	Doncaster Wheelers C.C.	Senior	00:00:00
DNS	Kevin	Raine	Team Lifting Gear Products/Cycles In Motion	Espoir	00:00:00
DNS	Barry	Clay	7 Hills Cycling Club	Senior	00:00:00
DNS		-			
(apols)	Andrew	Laidler	7 Hills Cycling Club	Senior	00:00:00
DNS	Alex	Raynard	Sitwell Cycling Club	Veteran	00:00:00